There IS a family

20 Sep

About a month ago, i guess, I saw a link to this blog post on my facebook feed.

http://therebelution.com/blog/2013/08/help-viktor-and-yuri-get-adopted/#.UjxhOcZQErU

I remember seeing the picture, and the title, but to be honest, I didn’t even click on the link. I mean, I didn’t have any connection to these people, what could I do? It’s not like WE were going to adopt the kids!

Well, so much for that thought! Mom saw the post a day or two later, and started talking about it all the time. I still didn’t think anything would come of it that would really involve me very much, maybe we’d raise some money for them – I could make some hair bows and beaded socks to sell, maybe bake a couple hundred cookies – nothing we hadn’t done before. But though we are now raising money for an adoption, it’s for our own. 🙂

Mom and Dad began discussing how well we were set up to adopt a child with special needs. With Dad in the Army, we’ve got fine medical coverage, and a steady income, and we’ve had some experience with special needs with Talyah since she has down syndrome. Also, we’ve got three teenagers in the house now – plenty able to help Mom with running the house and keeping up on things. 🙂

Once Mom and Dad made the decision to go ahead with the adoption, everything started moving along quite quickly . We got in contact with a bunch of people we’ll need along the way, and actually just had our home study this morning.

So to answer a line from that blog post, “there is no family.”, well, there IS a family. It’s us.

~ thisbigsister

3 Responses to “There IS a family”

  1. McKennaugh September 21, 2013 at 12:05 am #

    I am the one who wrote that post and thus the words “there is no family”. I prayed every day that God would bring someone to love Yuri. I could never forget the way he would grab my hands and look into my eyes, like he was begging me to never let go of him. If I could have, I would have held him forever. But I couldn’t. So I was searching for someone who could.
    I knew that I wouldn’t be able reach the right people alone, so I prayed that God would place my words in the right hands–loving hands that could clasp Yuri’s tiny ones. And, now, thanks to you and your family I can say, “There IS a family.”

    • Emily Schmidt February 1, 2014 at 6:39 pm #

      Oh McKennaugh! So proud of your diligence!! May God richly reward you for your selfless love.

  2. Emily Schmidt February 1, 2014 at 6:38 pm #

    Hi Emily, I’ve been following your family’s adoption journey from your mum’s blog, and I am SO EXCITED for you all! My heart really broke for the two boys, but there was no way I could adopt them (Australian, 16, etc.) and there was no way my family could (Australians on a visa in the US). My heart rejoices that God has out it on your family’s heart to adopt both of the boys, and Christina too. I’m praying for you!! Much love, Emily (another one 😉 )

Leave a Reply

